Site Manager

The Site Manager displays an interactive map of the digital workplace. Enterprise and workplace administrators can access the Site Manager from the Control Panel to add, move, remove, and edit the channels, pages, spaces, and dashboards that are part of the workplace. Changes made on the Site Manager happen immediately. The Navigation page of a space provides space administrators with similar functionality.

The Site Manager of a digital workplace.

Sections in this article: 

Navigate the Sitemap

Select + Plus next to a page or space to display the locations under it. Selecting this button again will hide the items located beneath it. If a page or space does not have anything under it, this button is not displayed. 

Change the Homepage

The house icon next to an item in the Site Manager indicates that it is the current Homepage of the digital workplace. Users who navigate to the root URL of your digital workplace are brought to this location.

Select the Homepage dropdown at the top of the Site Manager and then an option from the list to change the homepage.

Add channels, pages, and spaces

Select + Add to view a list of items that can be added to the workplace. Options include:

Move channels, pages, spaces, and dashboards

Select and drag the channel, page, space, or dashboard to where you want it to be. As you drag the item over other items in the Site Manager a horizontal bar will indicate where the moved item will be placed when you release the mouse button. Holding the item over a page or space will expand its contents (if they are not already expanded). 

When you release the mouse button you may receive a dialog warning that the URL path of the object will change. This message occurs when you move an item between pages or spaces, from the root of the workplace to a page or space, or from a page or space to the root of the digital workplace. Any links that provide navigation to the item's old location are redirected to the new location.

While specific access rules on the object will persist when you move an object, inherited access rules will change based on what is cascading from the parent object. Before moving an object:

  • Check the object's current access rules to understand what inherited access rules will be lost.
  • Check what access rules the object will inherit at its new location to understand what inherited access rules will be gained.

After moving an object in the Site Manager, you should always check its access rules to ensure that only the intended users have access to it. 

Edit channels, pages, spaces, and dashboards

Select Actions to the right of a channel, page, space, or dashboard to view what actions you can perform. These options will vary depending on the item but may include:

  • Quick Edit: Enter a new Title and URL.
  • Navigation: Select whether the item displays in the navigation, or is hidden. A hidden item can still be accessed and will still appear in search results. For pages and spaces, you can also select whether they have a dropdown that displays links to the items located under it. This dropdown only appears when the item is in the main navigation bar. 
  • Full Edit: Navigate to the item's Edit page.
  • View: Navigate to the item.
  • Access: Navigate to the item's Access page.
  • Settings: Navigate to the item's Settings page.
  • Delete: Delete the item and all of its contents from your digital workplace. Deleting a page or space also deletes anything underneath it. Deleted items will exist in the Trash Can for 30 days. 

Use the Site Manager

To access the Site Manager and start building your workplace:

  1. On the Userbar, select Control Panel
  2. Under Presentation, select Site Manager. In Site Manager, the options are as follows:  
    • Add content: Select + Add  and choose the type of channel, page, space, or dashboard you would like to create. The Site Manager provides a hierarchical overview of your digital workplace, allowing you navigation paths while you build your workplace simultaneously.
    • Delete content: Select Actions next to the channel, dashboard, page, or space you wish to remove and select Delete.
    • Hide content from primary navigation: You may want to hide what you are working on until it is done and ready to be shared. To hide your work:
      1. Select Actions next to the channel, page, dashboard, or space and then select Navigation.
      2. Under Display Options, select Hide from the dropdown.
    • Configure the Homepage: The Homepage dropdown determines what users will visit when they navigate to the workplace URL. It can be set to any page at the root level of the workplace.