The Manage Groups feature is within the Control Panel's Membership area, and allows user groups to be defined and populated. Groups are integral to the permissions architecture within a digital workplace. They are required when access levels to channels are assigned, when broadcasts are sent, and when specific sets of users require additional access.
Sections in this article:
Features
Group types
There are three group types you will find on the Manage Groups page:
- System Groups: System groups are created by the digital workplace and cannot be renamed. There are two groups available: Administrators and Members. The system administrator should reside in the Administrators group. All user accounts in the digital workplace will reside in the Members group, including administrators. To view System Groups, select the System Groups tab.
- Member groups: Member groups are defined by enterprise or workplace administrators to create specialized groups that are used throughout the platform. Access rules on any page, space, or channel within the digital workplace can be applied to a member group. Users can be assigned to multiple member groups within a digital workplace. To view member groups, select the Member Groups tab.
-
Space groups: Space groups are created to be used within a specific space. A space group can either be created or managed within the Manage Groups page in the Control Panel or the Manage Members page in that space. Similar to the larger workplace, space groups contain three types of groups:
- Administrators (space administrators will have full administrative control of the space)
- Members (anyone added to this group will become a member of the space)
- Custom Groups (additional groups can be defined if the governance model of the space requires additional groups).
Group management
You can take the following actions from the Manage Groups page:
-
Rename group: You can rename any group name except for system groups.
- Select the group name in the list.
- Under Group Name, edit the name.
- At the bottom of the dialog, select Update.
- View or edit group users: Select any group to display a dialog where you can view the users, and add or remove them.
- Actions: You can select the Actions button for further options, such as modifying the group's subscriptions and frequency of notifications, as well as deleting the group from the digital workplace.
Manage roles
You can grant additional access on a group by group basis using the Manage Roles feature. Access can be granted to a member group, space group or All Members. See Roles for in-depth information.
- Broadcast Management: Groups can be given broadcast permissions within the system. There are two types of broadcast capability that can be assigned: Broadcast to your groups (that you belong to) and Broadcast to all groups (including Administrators and All Members system groups).
- Content Management: Groups can be given content management permissions for the following areas: Create Pages, Create Spaces, Manage Labels, and Manage Tasks.
- Membership Management: Groups can be given membership management rights. Any group with these rights can view all members in the member directory. Permissions can pertain to the following areas: Add Members, Revoke Members, Manage Member Groups, Manage Registration, Manage Invitations, Manage Reputation, and Perform Bulk User Uploads.
- Webmaster Management: Groups can be given access to manage webmaster permissions in the following areas: Manage Themes, Manage URL Shortcuts, Manage Social Media, Manage Google Analytics, Access Analytics, Edit SEO, and Edit JS.
- Access Preview Management: Groups can be given access to the Digital Workplace Preview site.
Create a group
To add a group to the digital workplace:
- In the Manage Groups page, select the Member Groups or Space Groups tab.
- At the bottom of the page, select + <new group>.
- In the dialog, enter a group name. This is the name that will appear when access rules are applied.
- Search for existing digital workplace users and add them into the group using the search tool.
- Select Create.
Frequently asked questions
What happens if a person is in group A and group B, and has different access rules for each? (For example: Group A has Read access, Group B has Full access)?
If you are a member of multiple groups with different access rules, the rule which gives you the most access will apply. Using the above example, the Group B Full access rule will apply to all.
If a users' access has been revoked, what happens if you create a new account using the same email address?
This will restore the user account and associate previously contributed content with that user; however, it will not restore group membership.