Edit Profile

The Edit Profile feature allows you to add or edit the personal and professional information in your profile and manage who has access to see what information.

Sections in this article: 

Features

The Edit Profile page is separated into five tabs: Personal, Work, Photo, Privacy, and Login Settings. See each section for options for on the Edit Profile page.

Personal

  • First Name, Last Name: First and last name are mandatory fields. 
  • Birthday: (Optional) Your birthday only displays the day and month to other people; the year is only visible to enterprise and workplace administrators.
  • Preferred Language: (Optional) If your digital workplace is only offered in one language, you will not be able to change your preferred language. However, if your digital workplace is multilingual, you can select a language from the available options. This will change your system text to the selected language; however, user-generated content may not be available in your language.
  • About: (Optional) Write a brief summary about yourself. There is an opportunity to add a few interesting facts, quirks, and details about yourself. There is a 2,000 character limit. 
  • My Blog, My Website: (Optional) Include the URL to your blog or website.
  • IM Accounts: (Optional) Add your Instant Messaging IDs so people can quickly connect to you there. Available options include Teams, Skype, Hangouts, and Skype for Business.
  • Other Profiles: (Optional) Add a URL to your social accounts. Options include LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, or Google+.

Work

  • Basic information: This area contains your employment information including your role, supervisor, address and phone number. This is particularly useful if your digital workplace is an extranet and you want people outside your company to contact you. It’s also helpful for coworkers who need to find your contact information. 
  • Extended Information: These are lists of expertise and interests which will appear in search results. They are comma separated lists where each item can be up to 50 characters. These are useful for finding other people in your organization with shared interests or expertise.

Photo

For information on updating your profile photo, see Updating your profile photo.

Privacy

Every field in your profile has a privacy setting, so you have the option of sharing each item with just your contacts, only members of your workplace, everyone, or no one except yourself. Enterprise and workplace administrators can modify your privacy settings as needed. 

Beside a profile field, select one of the following options:

  • Nobody: Only you can view this information on your profile and profile card.  However, workplace administrators can view your profile information by editing your profile and can always see your profile photo. 
  • Contacts: The item will only be shared with your contacts
  • Members: The information will be shared with all digital workplace members.
  • Everyone: This option typically only applies to extranets. If your workplace is shared outside your organization, then your content will be available to people, even if they are not members of your workplace.

Login Settings

The Login Settings tab allows you to change your email address and password with which you log into your digital workplace. For more information see Changing your email or Changing your Igloo password. Some options may not be available here if your digital workplace is using SSO or LDAP authentication for login. 

Populate or edit your profile information

When roles, interests, contact information, and company structures change, so should your profile. Follow the instructions below to learn how to add or change profile information.

  1. On the Userbar, select your name and then Profile
  2. On your profile page, select Edit Profile
  3. Use the tabs at the top of the page to toggle between the Personal, Work, Photo, Privacy, and Login Settings tabs and add new content to your profile fields or change the existing content.
  4. Select Save on each tab.