Content-related email notifications allow users to stay informed about the content within their digital workplace. These notifications contain a tracking pixel that records when the email has been previewed. A count of these previews can be found on the article's information box and activity page. This information can be used to better understand how workplace users are consuming content.
The tracking pixel is not visible in the email notification. However, if users do not load images within their emails, no preview will be recorded.
Sections in this article:
Ensure the tracking pixel can record previews
For the tracking pixel to be able to report previews:
- Users need to receive the notifications. See Igloo mail server information for specific Igloo server environment information.
- Images within the email must be displayed.
Email clients such as Microsoft Outlook may block images from unrecognized email senders. While users can do this individually with Microsoft Outlook (Home > Junk > Junk Email Options), consider asking your organization's IT administrator to apply a Group Policy or an Azure PowerShell cmdlet for all users. In addition to allowing the tracking pixel to function as intended, doing this will reduce the likelihood of emails being placed in junk mail folders.
Preview reporting
The tracking pixel is only present in the following notification types:
- Instant Subscription notifications
- @mentions
And for these content types:
When a user opens an email and images are loaded, a preview of that article will be recorded. You can find information about preview analytics on the Activity page for blog articles, wiki articles, calendar events, forum topics, and files. This preview information is not currently available in Workplace Analytics or Data Feeds.
The tracking pixel is unique to each initial recipient of a notification content-related notification email. As a result, forwarding the email can result in additional views being attributed to the original recipient of the forwarded email. Similarly, viewing an email multiple times will result in additional previews being logged.