Many features of a digital workplace generate email notifications. These notifications keep users up to date with what's going on in the workplace, and draw attention to items that require action.
Sections in this article:
- Actions that generate email notifications
- Email addresses used by notifications
- Managing notifications
- Configuring notifications
Actions that generate email notifications
Members who are following or have a subscription to a channel receive notifications when:
- New content is added to the channel.
- Edits are made to the channel.
Members who are following or have a subscription to content on a channel receive notifications when:
- Edits are made to the content.
- Comments are made to the content.
- The content is moved to a different channel.
Members who are in a group targeted by a broadcast receive notifications when:
- The content is published.
- Edits are made to the content.
Members who are involved with moderated content receive notifications when:
- They are a moderator and new content is sent to moderation (if enabled).
- They are an author and the content has been published or rejects.
- Any edits are made to the draft
Members will receive a notification when the content they are following is manually archived or unarchived.
Forgotten Password Emails
Members who reset their password receive an email that provides the steps to reset their password.
Invitations that contain a registration link to a workplace can be sent by workplace administrators.
Members who are involved with ghost-written content receive notifications when:
- They are added as an author to the content.
- Another member has published content on their behalf.
Join requests are sent to the appropriate administrators:
- Workplace administrators receive an email when a user requests to join a digital workplace.
- Space administrators receive an email when users request to join their space.
Members who are working with tasks receive notifications when:
- They have been assigned a task.
- An assigned task has been edited or has had a sub-task added to it.
- A task you created is completed or modified.
Members who are working on a draft of content receive notifications when:
- They are added as an author.
- They have a draft passed to them.
- A note is added to the draft.
- Edits are made to the draft.
Members who are @mentioned receive a notification
Members who are sent messages receive a notification.
Members who are assigned to content with read tracking receive notifications if a reminder is sent.
Hiding/Unhiding a channel
When an administrator hides or unhides a channel in the Site Manager, a channel edit notification is sent to all subscribed users of that channel.
An event attendee will receive notifications as a result of the following actions:
- Being added as an attendee.
- Joining an open RSVP event.
- Changing attendance status.
- Being removed as an attendee
These notifications are sent regardless of whether channel or digital workplace notifications are disabled.
Email addresses used by notifications
By default, digital workplace notifications come from email addresses that share the same domain as the digital workplace. For example, notifications from https://customercare.igloosoftware.com use the domain.igloosoftware.com.
Users can manage their notifications from and instant subscriptions, disabling/enabling whether or not they receive these email notifications.
- Disabling blog body content in email notifications
- Branding notifications
- Don't notify followers of updates
- Turning off notifications
- Turning off channel email notifications