Moving published content

Except for Tasks, published content is movable between channels of the same type. Blog, Wiki, Calendar, and Forum content are all moved in a similar way, while Folder and Microblog contents have unique movement methods. To move content between channels a user requires at least Edit Level Access to the content, and Write Level Access to the destination channel.

Moving content will create a notification to members who are following the destination channel.

Sections in this article: 

Moving published Blog, Wiki, Calendar, and Forum channel contents

  1. Navigate to the content.
  2. Select  Actions button located above the content. 
    • If you do not see the Actions button, you do not have Edit Level Access to the content. 
  3. Select Edit from the Actions Menu.
  4. Choose the desired destination channel from the channel drop-down. 
    • If you do not see the desired channel you do not have Write Level Access to it.  
  5. Select Save Changes to apply this change.

Moving published Folder channel documents or folders

  1. Navigate to the document or folder location.
  2. Select   /  Actions button located to the right of the document or folder name.
    • If you do not see the Actions button, you do not have Edit Level Access to the content.
  3. Select Move from the Actions Menu. 
  4. Select folders in the Folders window to navigate to the desired destination channel.
    • The message "You cannot move to this location." is shown when you select a channel you do not have Write Level Access to.
  5. Select Move Here, located at the bottom of your screen to apply this change. 

Moving published Microblog posts

  1. Locate the Post in either the Microblog channel or Microblog widget.
  2. Select Igloo_ActionsButton_TriangleIconSmall.png Actions button located at the top right of the Post.
  3. Select View Post from the Actions Menu.
  4. Click the X button next to the current Microblog channel's entry in the channels window.
    • The channels window is located next to the post. On mobile devices, it may be located below the post.
    • Clicking this button removes the posts association to that Microblog channel.
  5. Select Edit button located at the upper right of the post.
    • If you do not see the Edit button, you do not have Edit Level Access to the content.
  6. In the WYSIWYG Editor, enter the Hashname of the destination Microblog channel to create an association between the post and destination Microblog channel.
  7. Select Save on to apply this change.
    • Editing the Post will generate a notification to those following the Post.
  8. Refresh the page.
    • The Hashtagged Microblog channel should appear in the channels window. If it does not, verify that the Hashtag is correct and that you have Write Level Access the destination Microblog channel.
  9. Optional: Re-Edit the post to remove the Hashname. 
    • Removing the Hashname will not remove the association to the Microblog channel.
    • Editing the post will generate a notification to those following the post.