Broadcasts

Notify other users of important content by broadcasting it to them along with a custom message. Broadcasts arrive as email notifications outside of the platform, messages inside the digital workplace, and items in the mobile app's Notifications tab to members of the targeted groups. Users can then select the link provided in the broadcast to go to that location in the digital workplace.

Sections in this article: 

Considerations and caveats

What you can broadcast

  • Channels (existing)
  • Pages (existing)
  • Space homepages (existing)
  • Member Directory page (existing)
  • Pulse page (existing)
  • Blog articles (new and existing) 
  • Calendar events (new and existing) 
  • Files and folders (existing) 
  • Microblog post (existing)
  • Forum topics (new and existing)
  • Wiki articles (new and existing)

Who can broadcast to which groups

Only members of groups that have been assigned broadcast roles and workplace administrators can send broadcasts. Without a role, you will not see any broadcast options. Which groups you can broadcast to also depends on the assigned role. Group roles are controlled by the administrator of your digital workplace, see Configuring broadcasts

Receiving broadcasts

If a user is a member of multiple groups that have been selected to receive a broadcast, they will only receive one broadcast notification. 

Notifications enabled

If a digital workplace's notifications are disabled, a broadcast email notification will not be sent. However, the broadcast will still populate in users' Messages.

How to broadcast new content

When creating new blog articles, events, forum topics, and wiki articles, content creators who are part of a group with a broadcast role can access the broadcast option under Advanced Options.

The broadcast editor for new content.

Under Broadcasting, search and select the groups to which you want to send a broadcast notification. Then, enter a brief message to include in the notification using the editor. This message cannot exceed 10,000 characters (this includes characters found in the HTML).

Your digital workplace will send this broadcast to the selected groups when the content is published.

How to broadcast existing content

The broadcast editor for existing content.

  1. Go to the content.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page.
  3. Select Broadcast.
  4. Search for and select the groups that you want to send a broadcast notification to.
  5. Enter a brief message to include in the notification using the editor. This message cannot exceed 10,000 characters (this includes characters found in the HTML).
  6. Select Send.

Additional resources