Edit a channel's archiving policy

Edit a channel's archiving policy to archive content differently from the workplace archiving policy.

Content, including content that existed before the policy was created, that meets the conditions of an archiving policy is placed in an archiving queue for the length of time specified by the digital workplace's grace period. Once the grace period is over, the content will be archived. Processing of archiving policies occurs overnight, so the effect of policies will not be seen until the next day.

No notifications are sent when content is archived by policies. 

Sections in this article

Edit a channel's archiving policy

Only users with at least Edit access to a channel can follow these steps to edit its archiving policy.

  1. Go to the channel you want to edit.
  2. Select Actions, followed by Settings.
  3. Scroll down the page until you get to the Archiving section.
  4. Select a retention policy for the channel. Options include:
    • Use the community set retention policy: Content on the channel will use the workplace archiving policy.
    • Archive items in this channel: Content on the channel will use the selected time period and event type to determine when to archive content.
    • Do not archive items in this channel: Content on the channel will not be archived.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Save.

Bypass a channel's archiving policy

By default, channels inherit their content types' associated workplace archiving policy, and content then inherits the policy from its channel. However, the workplace or channel archiving policy can be bypassed with the following: