Create, edit, or delete a workplace archiving policy

Create, edit, or delete a workplace archiving policy for a selected content type. Each content type has a policy that determines when that type of content gets automatically archived. If no policy is configured, that type of content will not be automatically archived.

Content, including content that existed before the policy was created, that meets the conditions of an archiving policy is placed in an archiving queue for the length of time specified by the digital workplace's grace period. Once the grace period is over, the content will be archived. Processing of archiving policies occurs overnight, so the effect of policies will not be seen until the next day.

No notifications are sent when content is archived by policies. 

Sections in this article:

Create or edit a workplace archiving policy

Only workplace administrators can follow the steps to create or edit an archiving policy.

  1. At the top of the page, select Control Panel.
  2. Under Overview, select Manage Archive.
  3. Select the Policies tab.
  4. Find the content type you want to create or edit a policy for.
    • If the content type has no existing archiving policy: Select Create Policy.
    • If the content type (other than Tasks) is not listed under Retention Policy Settings, archiving for that content type is not yet enabled. See, Enable or disable archiving.
  5. Configure the grace period (i.e. how long after the selected event type to wait before archiving content). Select from:
    • 1-365 days
    • 1-52 weeks
    • 1-12, 18, 24, 30, 36 months
    • 1-10 years
  6. Select the event type that the archiving policy uses to determine when content should be archived. Content will enter the grace period after the selected time period has passed since the event occurred. The available event types depend on the content type:
    • Blog Articles: Last comment or publish date
    • Calendar Events: End of event
    • Documents: Last comment, publish date, or last version
    • Forum Posts: Last comment or publish date
    • Microblog Posts: Last comment or post date
    • Wiki Articles: Last comment, publish date, or last version
  7. Select Save to apply your policy.

Delete a workplace archiving policy

Only workplace administrators can follow the steps to delete an archiving policy.

  1. At the top of the page, select Control Panel.
  2. Under Overview, select Manage Archive.
  3. Select the Policies tab.
  4. Find the content type that has a policy that you want to delete.
  5. To the left of the policy, select Remove Policy.

Bypass workplace archiving policies

By default, channels inherit their content types' associated workplace archiving policy, and content then inherits the policy from its channel. However, the workplace archiving policy can be bypassed with the following: