Enable or disable archiving

Enable or disable archiving in your digital workplace to hide old and no longer relevant content from users' search results and prevent it from being edited.

Enable or disable archiving

Only workplace administrators can follow the steps to enable or disable archiving.

  1. At the top of the page, select Control Panel.
  2. Under Settings, select Global Settings.
  3. Scroll down the page to the Archive section.
  4. Toggle the Enable Archiving setting on or off.
    • If you are disabling archiving: Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Save to apply the change. Archiving has been disabled and you don't need to continue with additional steps.
    • If you are enabling archiving: Continue to the next step.
  5. Select which of the following content types can be archived: 
    • Blog Articles
    • Calendar Events
    • Documents
    • Forum Posts
    • Microblog Posts
    • Wiki Articles
  6. Select how long the Grace Period should be. The options range from 1 to 15, 20, 30, 45, or 60 days.  
    • Content that has met the conditions of an archiving policy is placed in an archiving queue for the length of time specified by the grace period. During the grace period, administrators can review queued articles to postpone or prevent archiving of content that they want to keep searchable and editable. Once the grace period is over, the content will be archived.
  7. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Save to apply changes.